An Unexpected Vegan Treat

25 October 2010 at 00:01 3 comments

On my recent trip to the Nagorno Karabakh region, I made my way into an open-air produce market. My stash of pickled cabbage was running low, so I decided to buy some more. But as soon as I entered, my focus drifted off towards the delicious smell of freshly baked bread and herbs. Following my nose, I soon spot a group of women preparing treats. I forget about the pickled cabbage and head straight to the street vendors.

The Pickled Goodies Stand...

I'm Getting Hungry!

I watch them as I’m waiting for my bread to cook: they begin by mixing (I’m told) seven locally grown herbs into a bowl, adding nothing other than a little oil and salt.

Then they place the herb mixture over a thin layer of dough and wrap it. Try to imagine a vegan fresh herb calzone…once wrapped, the women then cook the bread over low heat until golden brown. And voila! My bread is finally ready and I chomp right into it…the herbs are steaming hot and full of flavor. I recognize basil, parsley and dill, but the other four herbs are a mystery to me. The bread is, well, just awesome.

The Baked Calzone...

In my time as a Kiva Fellow in Armenia, I have most enjoyed the  personal connections I’ve made with borrowers. These bread ladies are proud and passionate about their work, and I can taste it in every bite!

Entry filed under: KF12 (Kiva Fellows 12th Class). Tags: , , , , , , .

A Photo Diary of Uganda What is a ‘Green Run’?

3 Comments

  • 1. emine  |  2 November 2010 at 01:31

    Thanks for sharing your experience

  • 2. charmaine  |  25 October 2010 at 01:04

    What a wonderful description of what you saw at the market. Loved it! Thank you for sharing it with us.

    • 3. vanickd  |  26 October 2010 at 05:37

      I’m glad you liked it!

      Best,
      Vanick


Get Involved!

Learn more about this blog and about Kiva Fellows

Visit Kiva.org

Apply to be a Kiva Fellow

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,339 other followers

Archives

Drawing from the Field

Kiva Blog Policy


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,339 other followers

