Video: Uganda from the eyes of a Kiva Fellow

23 September 2010 at 06:00 6 comments

By Sarah Curl, KF 12 Uganda

After eight weeks in the field, I have logged some serious hours in matatus and buses.  I thought I would share some of the things I come across on a day to day basis.   Here is a short observational video of Uganda.

Please keep in mind that keeping a steady hand on a flip camera while on the back of a motorcycle or matatu is not an easy task.  I apologize in advance for the unsteady video clips.

Sarah Curl is a Kiva Fellow serving in Kampala, Uganda.  She is working at Pearl Microfinance, enjoying eating traditional Ugandan food everyday and using boda-bodas as her main form of transportation around the capital.

Join Pearl Microfinance’s Lending Team here!

Find Kiva loans from Pearl Microfinance here!

Entry filed under: blogsherpa, KF12 (Kiva Fellows 12th Class), PEARL Microfinance, Uganda. Tags: , , , , .

Working to Closer Tolerances, Observation #2 Are Microfinance Borrowers “Borrowers” or are they “Entrepreneurs”?

6 Comments

  • 1. Dianne  |  29 September 2010 at 12:21

    Sarah, loved the photos of Mombasa the water color is amazing. I am glad you had a little down time. I like the video of ? Kampala downtown! It was really bustling – and helped me imagine what it must be like for you there.
    It is almost October! Hugs to you. Call me when you come back to SF.

    Dianne Z

  • 2. tcapsuto  |  29 September 2010 at 06:27

    Thanks for the glimpse into Uganda, Sarah. I like your technique of flipping between transport footage and pictures!

  • 3. Gabriel  |  23 September 2010 at 17:15

    amazing how much the landscape looks like southern Costa Rica.

  • 4. Jackie  |  23 September 2010 at 10:54

    Hi Sara,

    I have a friend who for the last 4 or 5 years has been travelling to Uganda and staying for about 6 months at a time. She does some work with The Society of Friends (Quakers) and some with local organizations in the West Nile region.
    She does a lot of fund raising for Ugandan entrepreneurs she knows personallywhen she is here in Ontario. She just recently found out about Kiva and would like to have more information about how to connect people in her community with Kiva.
    Can you give me information about how she can connect with you or another MFI on behalf of her Ugandan community?
    I am passing this message on to you on her behalf because she is limited in her access to high speed internet.

    • 5. Sarah Curl  |  24 September 2010 at 03:12

      Hi Jackie,

      Feel free to email me at sarah.curl@fellows.kiva.org and I can answer any questions you might have. Or you can send me your friends email and I can communicate with her that way. Thanks!

  • 6. Katie M.  |  23 September 2010 at 06:26

    Boda boda!


Get Involved!

Learn more about this blog and about Kiva Fellows

Visit Kiva.org

Apply to be a Kiva Fellow

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,348 other followers

Archives

Drawing from the Field

Kiva Blog Policy


