Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston

18 January 2011 at 08:42 14 comments

Kiva's enormous and wonderful world map.

You’ll be hearing a lot from the 14th batch of Kiva Fellows (KF14) in the next few months but I just wanted to take a moment to introduce myself while my Internet is fast and my motivation to go outside is low (it’s below freezing in Boston).

I’m headed to South Africa in less than a week to work with Women’s Development Businesses (WDB) as they transition from a pilot partnership to an active partnership with Kiva. Fortunately for me, EB Moore (KF13) has been laying the groundwork in Richard’s Bay and I’ll have the benefit of her expertise during my first two weeks on the job.

Throughout my fellowship, expect plenty of short videos and updates as I get to know the staff and borrowers in KwaZulu-Natal and as I learn more about not only WDB’s microfinance programs but also their community programs and partnerships. If you have any questions about WDB, just send them my way or leave a comment and I’ll try my best to provide some on-the-ground insight.

Before I sign off and turn on a space heater, I’d like to give a big “Thank you!” to Kiva staff for hosting an incredible training last week in San Francisco. I think I can safely say that all of us KF14ers ended the week very excited to get into the field and get our projects rolling with our assigned microfinance institutions (MFIs). I can’t wait for their updates to start pouring in….

Alexis Ditkowsky (KF14) will start work with Women’s Development Businesses in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa at the end of the month. Check out WDB’s lending team and stay tuned for new loans on their lending page.

Second day of training.

Loved how different rooms had different names. You could just as easily go to a meeting in Kabul as Dakar.

Learning about the legal and ethical use of media, including pictures, videos, and music.

Fourth day of training.

Last day at Kiva HQ.

Entry filed under: Africa, blogsherpa, KF14 (Kiva Fellows 14th Class), Kiva Staff, Kiva Team, South Africa, Womens Development Businesses (WDB). Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Ceremonies and Pigs in Bali Southern Sudan: Africa’s Newest Country?

14 Comments

  • […] for Kiva’s Partner in South Africa First Borrower Visit (Take 350+) A Hand-Delivered Kiva Fellow Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston ~ Nobuthle's home and stock room Bricks for eventually building a sturdier home Nobuthle […]

  • […] Spazas + Tuck Shops: Corner Stores in South Africa Photos from KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa Database Detective: South Africa Edition The Meaning of “Now” in South Africa Next Steps for Kiva’s Partner in South Africa First Borrower Visit (Take 350+) A Hand-Delivered Kiva Fellow Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston […]

  • […] Spazas + Tuck Shops: Corner Stores in South Africa Photos from KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa Database Detective: South Africa Edition The Meaning of “Now” in South Africa Next Steps for Kiva’s Partner in South Africa First Borrower Visit (Take 350+) A Hand-Delivered Kiva Fellow Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston […]

  • […] for Kiva’s Partner in South Africa First Borrower Visit (Take 350+) A Hand-Delivered Kiva Fellow Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston ~ On our way to a borrower meeting outside of Eshowe, KwaZulu-Natal The internal structure of a […]

  • […] Previous posts by Alexis Ditkowsky: Update from the Field: Carnival, Collaboration + Cheese-Making Update from the Field: Man’s Day, Singing Fellows + Learning How to Count The Meaning of “Now” in South Africa Update from the Field: Videos, Epic Commutes + Going Beyond Microfinance Last Week in the Field: “Christmas”, Trekking, Adversity + Good Company Next Steps for Kiva’s Partner in South Africa First Borrower Visit (Take 350+) A Hand-Delivered Kiva Fellow Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston […]

  • […] Previous posts by Alexis Ditkowsky: Update from the Field: Videos, Epic Commutes + Going Beyond Microfinance Last Week in the Field: “Christmas”, Trekking, Adversity + Good Company Next Steps for Kiva’s Partner in South Africa First Borrower Visit (Take 350+) A Hand-Delivered Kiva Fellow Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston […]

  • […] posts by Alexis Ditkowsky: First Borrower Visit (Take 350+) A Hand-Delivered Kiva Fellow Drawings from Training and Greetings from Boston On Wednesday, I went to the Nkandla branch to train DAs in Kiva's processes. Here, Slindile […]

  • 8. Naomi Baer  |  22 January 2011 at 01:12

    Alexis, these are fantastic! I especially loved the KFP map in the first one. It would be fun to get an original or two for the Kiva office at some point. (We could substitute it for your post-it on the map!)

    Have a good trip over, and I’ll look forward to more from the field…..

    • 9. Alexis Ditkowsky  |  25 January 2011 at 12:29

      Glad you got a kick out of them! I could probably find a way to part with one or two. We’ll see what sort of collection I have by the end of my time in South Africa…. Hope all is well in SF!

  • 10. Sam  |  20 January 2011 at 08:01

    I can’t wait to see your pictures from the field Alexis. Keep them coming, they are really fun. I wish I could have drawn what I saw in Tajikistan.

    • 11. Alexis Ditkowsky  |  25 January 2011 at 12:20

      Thanks, Sam! I’m planning to include one at the end of each post. Cheers, Alexis

  • 12. Nick Hamilton  |  19 January 2011 at 09:22

    These drawings are awesome, Alexis! Lovely idea for a blog post and it really brings my memories of KF13 training flooding back.

    • 13. Alexis Ditkowsky  |  19 January 2011 at 10:52

      Thanks, Nick! Been really enjoying your posts, too.

  • […] about the first time in a long time. Anyway, I hope you’ll check out my first post on the Kiva Fellows Blog and stay tuned for more updates in the coming […]


Get Involved!

Learn more about this blog and about Kiva Fellows

Visit Kiva.org

Apply to be a Kiva Fellow

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,348 other followers

Archives

Drawing from the Field

Kiva Blog Policy


