Day in the Life of a Kiva Fellow

1 May 2012 at 09:00 4 comments

Ever wonder what a day “in the field” actually looks like for a Kiva Fellow? I know I had so many questions before I touched down in Kenya, as did my friends and family back home. To answer these questions about where I’m working and what I’m doing all the way in Mombasa, I made a short video about a typical day in the life of a Kiva Fellow.

While my day-to-day activities vary by week, most of my time recently has been filled with a combination of borrower visits, website design, loan officer training, and filming what I see. Then of course, there’s all the patient waiting around when the office’s electricity takes it daily hiatus.

Check out the video to get a peek at a day’s work at Kiva Field Partner Milango Financial Services in Mombasa, Kenya.

Many thanks to Kiva’s video editor Jenny McAllister for all her help!

Devon Fisher is a Kiva Fellow working with Milango Financial Services in Mombasa, Kenya. You can find and fund Milango borrowers here

Entry filed under: blogsherpa, Entrepreneurial Support, Kenya, KF17 (Kiva Fellows 17th Class), Updates from the Field, Vulnerable Group Focus. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The View from the Roof of the World: Life in Tajikistan The Evolution of Economy: A New Definition of “Rich”

4 Comments

  • 1. dictatortot  |  14 May 2012 at 07:46

    Thanks Devon and Jenny – this video was really enlightening.

  • 2. Chase  |  13 May 2012 at 21:35

    What a great video! It looks like you’re doing some really amazing stuff over there!

  • 3. jlgreenthal  |  6 May 2012 at 22:55

    I enjoyed seeing what your day’s like as a Fellow in Nairobi. Words can only do so much; the video really brought the experience to life. Great job!

  • 4. kiyomibeach  |  4 May 2012 at 13:09

    This is a really great video, Devon. Thanks for sharing!


Get Involved!

Learn more about this blog and about Kiva Fellows

Visit Kiva.org

Apply to be a Kiva Fellow

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,347 other followers

Archives

Drawing from the Field

Kiva Blog Policy


