A Day in the Life: Loan Officers and Chickens

24 May 2012 at 17:58 6 comments

Adria Orr | KF17 | Samoa

They say a picture is worth a thousand words. So how much is a video worth? I’m going to assume it’s at least a thousand, squared. Since Samoa is such a mystery for most people, I decided to put together a short video about the daily routine of SPBD’s loan officers for everyone to take a peek at this remote country.

For my second offering, I bring you something a little more light-hearted, focusing on one of the biggest annoyances from my time here. Have you ever tried to sleep with a rooster cawing gleefully a few feet from your head? Or tried to conduct a bi-lingual interview with several roosters prancing around, cawing as they go? Well, let’s just say I may finally have snapped.

Now that I have offered you 1000^2 + 1000^2 words, I’m off to finish up my last two weeks here in the South Pacific.

Adria Orr a fowl-focused Kiva Fellow working with SPBD in Apia, Samoa. Help support our borrowers here!

Entry filed under: East Asia & the Pacific (EAP), KF17 (Kiva Fellows 17th Class), Samoa, South Pacific Business Development (SPBD).

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to a Borrower… Part 1 Different Worlds: Two Perspectives on Borrower Privacy from Indonesia and Ukraine

6 Comments

  • 1. cissy  |  6 June 2012 at 15:17

    Haha – great videos!

  • 2. Patricia Wada  |  1 June 2012 at 00:27

    Loved these videos, Adria! Hope you enjoy your remaining days out there…

    • 3. adriaorr  |  1 June 2012 at 04:02

      Thanks Patricia! We’re on Day 1 of a 4-day independence celebration (Samoa’s 50th), so I’m sure I will enjoy my last week. 🙂

  • […] A Day in the Life: Loan Officers and Chickens Adria Orr | KF17 | Samoa Adria’s video blog gives us a much-needed insight into what it’s really like to live and work in Samoa. Through two captivating videos we are privy to the hardships encountered by loan officers (and by our Fellow herself) while attempting to fulfill their official daily duties. […]

  • 5. Jacob Schultz  |  25 May 2012 at 16:33

    Just wonderful. I loved both vids. Thanks for doing this…. a great window into a world I don’t know.
    Jacob

  • 6. scortesl  |  25 May 2012 at 10:11

    Hahah Great Post!


Get Involved!

Learn more about this blog and about Kiva Fellows

Visit Kiva.org

Apply to be a Kiva Fellow

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,348 other followers

Archives

Drawing from the Field

Kiva Blog Policy


